Mon, 06 Dec 2021

South African tennis ace Kevin Anderson has been named as president of the ATP Player Council.

Anderson, a former world No 5, had previously served as the council's vice-president.

The governing body of men's professional tennis also announced that four new players have been elected to the ATP Player Council: Canada's Felix Auger-Aliassime, Frenchman Jeremy Chardy, Australia's John Millman and Britain's Andy Murray.

The quartet was elected by the existing members of the ATP Player Council to fill the roles vacated following the resignations of Novak Djokovic, John Isner, Vasek Pospisil and Sam Querrey.

Djokovic had sent shockwaves through the sport in August when he stepped down as head of the ATP Player Council.

The world No 1, along with Isner, Pospisil and Querrey, then announced the formation of a breakaway body, the Professional Tennis Players Association (PTPA).

The current ATP Player Council:

1-50 Singles: Kevin Anderson (president), Felix Auger-Aliassime, John Millman, Rafael Nadal

51-100 Singles: Jeremy Chardy, Yen-Hsun Lu

1-100 Doubles: Jurgen Melzer, Bruno Soares

At Large: Roger Federer, Andy Murray

Alumni Representative: Colin Dowdeswell

Coach Representative: Brad Stine

- Compiled by Herman Mostert

Source: News24

More Beijing News

Access More

Sign up for Beijing News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!